Premier League Clubs’ Ownership: Who’s at the Helm and Its Implications

Multi-club ownership is once again in the spotlight, with notable investments like Ineos in Manchester United, Manchester City’s link to La Liga’s Girona, and rumors of Saudi Pro League interest in Newcastle players.


Uefa president Aleksander Ceferin has voiced concerns about multi-club ownership, stating it as his “biggest problem without a solution.” Uefa’s rules prohibit any individual or entity from exerting “control or influence” over two clubs in the same competition, citing potential integrity issues.


Currently, Manchester City and Girona, both in Champions League contention, fall under the umbrella of the Abu Dhabi-backed City Football Group, which owns a 47% stake in Girona. However, Ceferin suggests a need to reassess these rules due to the perceived integrity risks.


In 2017, Uefa permitted RB Leipzig and Red Bull Salzburg, associated with energy-drink maker Red Bull, to participate in the Champions League, arguing that no single entity had decisive influence over both clubs, thus safeguarding competition integrity.

Several Premier League clubs have faced scrutiny and made adjustments to comply with Uefa regulations. For instance, Brighton and Aston Villa had to implement changes due to their connections with European clubs.

Here’s a breakdown of ownership models across the Premier League:

– Arsenal: Majority owned by American Stan Kroenke.

– Aston Villa: Majority owned by Nassef Sawiris and Wes Edens.

– Brentford: Majority owned by Matthew Benham.

– Brighton: Majority owned by Tony Bloom.

– Bournemouth: Majority owned by Bill Foley’s Black Knight Football Club.

– Burnley: Majority owned by American investment group ALK Capital.

See also  Woman Secures Second Legal Victory Against Rapper the Game, Following $7M Win in Assault Lawsuit

– Chelsea: Majority owned by American investor Todd Boehly and Clearlake Capital.

– Crystal Palace: Owned by John Textor’s Eagle Football Holdings.

– Everton: Majority owned by Farhad Moshiri.

– Fulham: Owned by Shahid Khan.

– Liverpool: Owned by Fenway Sports Group, with a stake held by Redbird Capital Partners.

– Luton Town: Owned by Luton Town Football Club 2020, chaired by David Wilkinson.

– Manchester City: Majority owned by Abu Dhabi United Group, with minority stakes held by Silver Lake, China Media Capital, and CITIC Capital.

– Manchester United: Sir Jim Ratcliffe’s Ineos Group acquired a 25% stake.

– Newcastle United: Majority owned by Saudi Arabia’s Public Investment Fund (PIF).

– Nottingham Forest: Owned by Greek shipping magnate Evangelos Marinakis.

– Sheffield United: Majority owned by Prince Abdullah, with various global investments.

– Tottenham: Majority owned by British investment company ENIC International.

– West Ham: Shares held by David Sullivan, Daniel Kretinsky, and Vanessa Gold.

– Wolves: Owned by Fosun Group, a Chinese investment firm.

These ownership structures reflect a diverse landscape within the Premier League, with implications for club operations, financial decisions, and competitive integrity.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *